day 48: children and puppies are very much alike

1

July 27, 2011 by bluerosegirl08

Golden Retriever

Image by rkleine via Flickr

I know I am long overdue to post an update, better late than never and I hope anyone reading this will forgive me.  I am now the owner of a purebred golden retriever who can trace his family tree at least as far back as I can.I have never had a purebred dog before I got him, believe it or not, it is quite an adjustment. The other thing that initially threw me for a loop it is the fact that the puppy is male.  I had originally requested a female but fate decided to change my plans for me.  So now I have Gideon, a 3 1/2 month old Golden who may very well be the smartest puppy I have ever met.  I’m still adjusting to the fact that he is my dog.  My mom does do things like take them outside for bathroom breaks, feed him, and cleanup the remarkably occasional accident.  But Gideon is definitely my dog.  I make sure that his vet appointments are kept and that everything he needs is paid for.  I remind people to put his food and water down and pick it back up so the cat does not try and eat the puppy Chow which apparently cats like.  The longer he is with me the more I am reminded of how much puppies and children are alike.  Keeping up with him is insane at times but I think the trade-off of watching him learn and grow into his awesome potential is well worth it. Disclaimer: the Golden retriever in this picture is not Gideon.

One thought on “day 48: children and puppies are very much alike

  1. [...] retrieves foxSome Random Thoughts on a Lazy August Day (The Heart, The Nickname, The Puppy)day 48: children and puppies are very much alike #header { background: [...]

Leave a Reply

Me in 30 seconds or less

28-year-old blogger living with a disability. Moved to Colorado just before Thanksgiving by way of Ohio and before that Tennessee. I live with my boyfriend and girlfriend, two cats and a Golden Retriever service dog. This blog contains my opinions on various subjects, feel free to comment and agree or disagree all I ask is that you keep it civil.
July 2011
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Enter your email address to keep track of my wandering mind!

Join 223 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 223 other followers

