day 52: This is just sad….

4

July 31, 2011 by bluerosegirl08

Six color rainbow gay pride flag flying above ...

Image via Wikipedia

Disclaimer: The following post reflects my views on a certain political and social issue. I understand that not everyone will agree with me. Feel free to comment but know that excessively nasty comments will be deleted. 

This makes me so sad. I have said many times that I would rather live anywhere but Tennessee but that article truly makes me ashamed to live here.  The fact that the staff at the theme park actually asked a a patron to turn their shirt inside out because the theme park is “family oriented,” makes me angry on so many different levels.  First of all, it is a slap in the face to the First Amendment right of free speech.  The shirt did not proclaim anything obscene or explicitly vulgar, the shirt only read, “marriage is so gay.”  The First Amendment allows for all kinds of people to voice their political opinions, T-shirt slogans are no exception.  The other bone of contention I have is that Dollywood seems to think that their park administration is at liberty to define the word family.  The park employee who informed the ladies of the dress code within the park seemed to imply that because they were gay that somehow left them out of the definition of family, so to be completely fair I will mention that the women in question were not asked to leave.  Personally though I am reminded of the Jim Crow laws, or if you want to go even further back in history the laws which forbade the peasantry to wear clothing dyed a certain shade for no other reason than the nobility decided that they should not be allowed to.It is ironic and perhaps timely that so soon after New York legalized gay marriage I’m reminded just how far Tennessee still has to go.

all men are created equal, even those you don’t agree with  or approval of personally.

4 thoughts on “day 52: This is just sad….

  1. Patrick Wilson says:

    I think you are missing the point about private property. Just as you reserve the right to remove comments you want to, Dollywood’s owners reserve the right to limit the comments made on their property. The First Amendment doesn’t give me the right to post on your private blog nor does it give anyone the right to say what they want in Dollywood. If you make Dollywood allow things to be said that it doesn’t want, then you must reserve that right on your private property as well. Gays have a right to be offended if they wish. They have a right to boycott if they wish. Nobody has the right to go onto somebody else’s property ans say whatever they wish, though.

  2. bluerosegirl08 says:

    You may have a point there….since it is open to the public I’m not sure if it’s considered private property or not. Regardless if it is or isn’t I still find their practices sad.

  3. Jennifer J Randolph says:

    As a Bi person I am offended about the women being asked to turn the T-Shirts inside out but I also agree with Patrick Wilson. The park is open to the paying public and while anyone is welcome to come in, there are rules to follow at the discretion of the park management. They do reserve the right to make people leave just as you reserve the right to delete comments you do not agree with. It is not like a public transit system or a county fair and anyone can show up wearing anything. It is a shame and Tennessee has a long way to go.

  4. [...] be a lot saner if we all learned the art of civil disagreement. I have written a few posts, like this one which have resulted in disagreements but all parties remained reasonably  civil. By civil I [...]

Leave a Reply

Me in 30 seconds or less

28-year-old blogger living with a disability. Moved to Colorado just before Thanksgiving by way of Ohio and before that Tennessee. I live with my boyfriend and girlfriend, two cats and a Golden Retriever service dog. This blog contains my opinions on various subjects, feel free to comment and agree or disagree all I ask is that you keep it civil.
July 2011
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Enter your email address to keep track of my wandering mind!

Join 223 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 223 other followers

