Day 69: reading The Green Mile, a partial review and commentary on summer climate in the South United States

3

August 26, 2011 by bluerosegirl08

Cover of "The Green Mile"

Cover of The Green Mile

I’m currently reading Stephen King’s The Green Mile, on which the movie starring Tom Hanks and Michael Clarke Duncan is based.  For the most part I am not too much of a fan of Stephen King at all.  I am 26 and still cry at scary movies.  I have not and will never see or read either The Shining  or Carrie. That having been said I think the film adaptation of The Green Mile is one of the rare adaptations that is almost as good as the original book.  I haven’t got all the way through the original book yet but so far I am thoroughly enjoying it. I can relate to Paul as he finds people at the retirement home in which he now lives and is putting to paper the story behind the last execution he oversaw and people he knew while still working as a prison guard.I find it slightly ironic that I picked up this particular book in August when the heat is most often terrible here when the book continually references an unseasonably warm fall.  I’m also planning on reading The Colorado Kid, the Stephen King book on which Haven, one of my favorite television series is based on. I’m beginning to wonder if my reading habits will be permanently altered in some way.  Insert Twilight Zone music here.

3 thoughts on “Day 69: reading The Green Mile, a partial review and commentary on summer climate in the South United States

  1. Maggie says:

    I love Stephen King. I read The Green Mile, but haven’t seen the movie. Carrie (the book and the movie) was very good – and Needful Things was really amazing.

  2. You made some decent points there. I looked on the internet for the subject matter and found most people will go along with with your blog.

  3. [...] because I’m a chicken and they scare me. I do like The Green Mile very much though I actually wrote a post should you care to read it.That being said I lost a little bit of respect for Mr. King when I read a [...]

Leave a Reply

Me in 30 seconds or less

28-year-old blogger living with a disability. Moved to Colorado just before Thanksgiving by way of Ohio and before that Tennessee. I live with my boyfriend and girlfriend, two cats and a Golden Retriever service dog. This blog contains my opinions on various subjects, feel free to comment and agree or disagree all I ask is that you keep it civil.
August 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Enter your email address to keep track of my wandering mind!

Join 223 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 223 other followers

