Day 85: the continuing struggle for personal autonomy

1

September 15, 2011 by bluerosegirl08

Roadblock on Bridgeport Rd

Image by NecroRogIcon via Flickr

Several  weeks ago I wrote getting a portable word processor so I could write down story ideas wherever I found just like everyone else who can use a pencil and a napkin. Just as I feared it has been put off for months and I have been recently told that I will not be able to get it before the first of next month even though I am supposed to be able to dictate how my inheritance is spent. People have paid lip service to the fact that they wish me to be a reasonably autonomous adult, able to make my own decisions, have a steady income which is not state provided, pay my own bills, move out of my parents house etc. but when it comes to letting me take the baby steps to those goals it seems to be harder than pulling teeth for all the roadblocks put in my way by seemingly well-meaning family members. Insert silent scream here.

One thought on “Day 85: the continuing struggle for personal autonomy

  1. Guess who says:

    Rach, You know I love your Grandma, but, you are grown. Tell her and anyone else who cares to tell you what and when to do with your money that you’re”free, white, and over 21″. You are perfectly capable of making good choices about what to do with your money. If tyou’re still not being heard contact the man who helps manage it, he can almost certainly help you get sole control. Oh by the way have you figured out who I am yet?

Leave a Reply

Me in 30 seconds or less

28-year-old blogger living with a disability. Moved to Colorado just before Thanksgiving by way of Ohio and before that Tennessee. I live with my boyfriend and girlfriend, two cats and a Golden Retriever service dog. This blog contains my opinions on various subjects, feel free to comment and agree or disagree all I ask is that you keep it civil.
September 2011
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Enter your email address to keep track of my wandering mind!

Join 223 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 223 other followers

