Day 166: Barbara Cartland and Sean Connery changed me forever

1

September 12, 2012 by bluerosegirl08

 

Cover of "Finding Forrester"

Cover of Finding Forrester

I was allowed to start reading romance novels at the age of 13 and the first author I was allowed to read was Barbara Cartland because the romantic scenes never went beyond a PG-13 level.  I should clarify that she was a historical romance novelist. From the first day I picked up one of her books I knew I wanted to write. Her books were filled with historical details that really  enhanced the romantic story itself. I wanted to write like that, to create a world rich in texture. She is dead now and any books that are published in her name within the last 10 or 15 years are completely different from her earlier books due to being entirely written by ghost writers most of whom are terrible.

A few years later the movie Finding Forrester came to theaters and I was freshly inspired. The movie plot centers around the relationship between a young writer and his mentor, a widely famous Hemingway like author who inexplicably wrote one great classic and then seemed to disappear off the face of the earth, so much so in fact there was rumored that he passed away. I’m not going to give away the ending but I truthfully believe that it is a movie that all writers should be required to see at least once especially when you start to wonder if this writing stuff is worth it because the movie will remind you that it is worthwhile and can be accomplished . I suggest watching it when you have writers block you actually might find a way out of that wet paper bag your creativity seems to be stuck in.

One thought on “Day 166: Barbara Cartland and Sean Connery changed me forever

  1. eof737 says:

    I read Barbara Cartland many years ago… Nice surprise to read her name again… She was a masterful writer. :-)

Leave a Reply

Me in 30 seconds or less

28-year-old blogger living with a disability. Moved to Colorado just before Thanksgiving by way of Ohio and before that Tennessee. I live with my boyfriend and girlfriend, two cats and a Golden Retriever service dog. This blog contains my opinions on various subjects, feel free to comment and agree or disagree all I ask is that you keep it civil.
September 2012
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Enter your email address to keep track of my wandering mind!

Join 223 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 223 other followers

