Day 172: Occupy Wall Street….What Was That About Again?

5

September 25, 2012 by bluerosegirl08

Leroy Jethro Gibbs

Leroy Jethro Gibbs (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Today apparently marks the one-year anniversary of Occupy Wall Street and to be quite honest I am still confused about why it got started in the first place. What was being protested exactly? If the idea of economic inequality was what was being protested I hate to burst their bubble but that has existed for millennia and is not likely to cease to exist because of formal protests. I am in no way saying that people who flaunt their continued good luck in the faces of those who are less fortunate don’t deserve a slap to the back of the head à la Jethro Gibbs from NCIS, they definitely have it coming. When I was in grade school and had a terrible aide who seemed to take enjoyment from telling me several times a week and sometimes daily what a burden and inconvenience I was to her I took solace in the thought that someday she would probably need as much help as I did and regret the awful things she had said to me. Someday the people who believed they would never find themselves standing in unemployment office will be there and they will find themselves having to eat humble pie and not liking it one bit.

5 thoughts on “Day 172: Occupy Wall Street….What Was That About Again?

  1. V.V. Vaymin says:

    Funny a friend and I were just talking about this yesterday. I didn’t know that it has already been a year.

  2. The meaning of Occupy has a lot more to do with the current state of our country’s economy and the unsustainable capitulation of democracy to the interests of corporate capitalists. Economic inequality is real, its tragic and its hurting people across this country.

    To assume that our existing system is somehow stable and will continue to exist in some millenial vaccum is a poor reading of the current state of America’s economic vitality and future. From economic damage to environmental damage to the direct erosion of our democracy, there is much to be concerned about and much to be active for.

  3. If you don’t know what Occupy was about, then you haven’t been paying attention.

  4. bluerosegirl08 says:

    It was not my intention to imply that our country’s economy does not need a lot of work because it definitely does.I am personally part of one of the hardest hit socioeconomic groups because of my disability. I was merely stating that the original explanation of the Occupy movement from the sources I had access to were vague and more than a little confusing..

  5. bluerosegirl08 says:

    The statement “be the change you seek in the world” could also apply. In other words if you don’t like how our government is handling the economy get into politics, even if it is just local and campaign to change it. Every revolution starts with one person.

Leave a Reply

Me in 30 seconds or less

28-year-old blogger living with a disability. Moved to Colorado just before Thanksgiving by way of Ohio and before that Tennessee. I live with my boyfriend and girlfriend, two cats and a Golden Retriever service dog. This blog contains my opinions on various subjects, feel free to comment and agree or disagree all I ask is that you keep it civil.
September 2012
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Enter your email address to keep track of my wandering mind!

Join 223 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 223 other followers

