Day 178: Gay Elf Knights Should Have Their Prince Too, a Dungeons and Dragons Coming Out

2

October 16, 2012 by bluerosegirl08

Rainbow flag (LGBT movement) LGBT (lesbian, ga...

Rainbow flag (LGBT movement) LGBT (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender) Pride flag (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Yes, I realize National Coming Out was a few days ago, bear with me.

When I was 14 and the internet still consisted mostly of AOL, I met DamianKane* , gay elf knight. His profile could, and probably did double as his D&D character sheet, which is why we started talking in the first place. That one conversation spawned an almost 3 year long friendship during which he taught me a basic rule of writing that has always proven true, for me at least.  A manuscript is never done. A writer does reach a point where there are satisfied enough to publish it but even years down the line will probably find something they could have done better.  Damian was the first person who asked to play in his D&D runs back when online gaming consisted  cf typed descriptions in a private  chat room and zero graphics.  He was also my first openly gay friend. I say  he was openly gay because he was with me, however he was in the closet to most of his family who would have ceased helping him pay for college and tossed him out on his ear if they knew. We lost touch years ago but I still think of him often because he gave me my first really lasting piece of writing advice. I hope wherever you are you feel free enough to be yourself and find the  you   deserve.

* Not his real name

2 thoughts on “Day 178: Gay Elf Knights Should Have Their Prince Too, a Dungeons and Dragons Coming Out

  1. wow what an interesting story. I remember AOL! lol!! And i remember how many friends I had met and thinking back, I wonder where they are today. thank you for sharing :)

  2. bluerosegirl08 says:

    Thank you so much for reading and commenting, I have actually been trying to find him for the last few months.

Leave a Reply

Me in 30 seconds or less

28-year-old blogger living with a disability. Moved to Colorado just before Thanksgiving by way of Ohio and before that Tennessee. I live with my boyfriend and girlfriend, two cats and a Golden Retriever service dog. This blog contains my opinions on various subjects, feel free to comment and agree or disagree all I ask is that you keep it civil.
October 2012
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Enter your email address to keep track of my wandering mind!

Join 223 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 223 other followers

