Day 249: A Confession and a Website Review

mr Gold/Rumplestiltskin http://threadofgold.tumblr.com/

mr Gold/Rumplestiltskin http://threadofgold.tumblr.com/

I am a name nerd. I’ve had a fascination with names since grade school. My mom is a name nerd too, it just might be genetic. I have only one sibling but you’d never guess that if the only thing you saw were the number of name books on our shelves. In all of my the time I lived with my folks I can count on both hands the number of times we gave an animal a pet or animal something you’d expect to hear. I remember one spring when all the new baby goats had the names of ice cream flavors.. One year I named a pair of boy/girl goat twins FDR and Elanor. I have had dogs named Travis, Portia( when we named her I was thinking of the Shakespeare character however almost anybody outside of my family who hears her name assumes we meant to name her for a car) Lola, Rosie(female terrier mix) Roosevelt (male lab mix) Honey, Spice, Buster Caylee and Nora. My current dog a Golden Retriever is named Gideon. Yes I know Gideon is a biblical name but in my case its a pop culture reference to Criminal Minds. It was a coin toss between Gideon and Reid

I’m also a fiction writer and so I use name books and websites to name characters. Nameberry.com has lists upon lists of names. You can search name by gender meaning, sound, popularity or any combination thereof. The site also has a forum for writers to brainstorm possible character names. It is definitely worth a look around., especially if your characters are anything like mine and makr you guess their names like Rumpelstiltskin.

3 thoughts on “Day 249: A Confession and a Website Review

  1. Naming is fun! Had a doberman pincher named Crackers as a kid. Had two cats that I named after girl names that I loved (Emily and Hannah). I always had a go of it with my name in grammar school as it is Winnie and I heard every Pooh joke, comment imaginable. But as an adult, I love my name. I think it suits me (ok, I am a bit round like the bear too, but it is all good…)

Leave a Reply

