Day 261: Ramen Noodles and US Politics

2

January 5, 2014 by bluerosegirl08

ramen drawer

ramen drawer (Photo credit: pinprick)

I have a love hate relationship with ramen noodles. On the one hand I love noodles and pasta of all kinds. Let me tell you something in case you’ve experienced it, ramen is a staple food for those who demographics label the working poor. My parents have been part of that particular demographic section most of my life I have learned to survive on alternating meals of ramen, mac and cheesee or buttered and salted white rice. I had the poor college kid thing down long before I ever went to college.

The issue I have with ramen is that as a food it’s not very disability friendly. Seriously all three of my “step children” ( my boyfriend’s son , andmy girlfriend’s two girls, who are all under the age of six) have better fork skills than I do at this point. It really is sad In order to eat ramen more or less independently the package of noodles has to be thoroughly broken apart before being cooked in as little water as possible. I usually ovoid the just microwave lunch in a cup option because the longer noodles and significant amount of broth is enough to make me cringe even before I make the mess I know is coming. Today however I triumphed and manged to eat a cup without dropping half the contents on the table or my shirt. It’s a good day.

Speaking of the working poor I personally that anybody who wants to run for President should have to work a minimum wage job and live in a one bedroom house or apartment with only basic amenities (for my purposes basic includes tv and internet but no dishwasher and no washer/dryer hook ups so they would have to budget for money and time spent in a laundromat) let someone who aspires to the biggest responsibility live like that for three months and I might believe they have half a clue of how to help the country as a whole.

This post has been brought to by the Zero to Hero: 30 Days to a Better Blog Challenge at Wordprss.com

my-sig-23

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 thoughts on “Day 261: Ramen Noodles and US Politics

  1. Maggie says:

    I totally agree. Politicians are too pampered and spoiled to see the world from the eyes of those who have less.

  2. John Falkenrich says:

    Just had a thought to add to that. No car, so they have to ride the bus wherever they need to go.

Leave a Reply

Me in 30 seconds or less

28-year-old blogger living with a disability. Moved to Colorado just before Thanksgiving by way of Ohio and before that Tennessee. I live with my boyfriend and girlfriend, two cats and a Golden Retriever service dog. This blog contains my opinions on various subjects, feel free to comment and agree or disagree all I ask is that you keep it civil.
January 2014
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Enter your email address to keep track of my wandering mind!

Join 223 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 223 other followers

