Day 272: Another Monday Another Quiz

This Monday meme is brought to you by the nice folks over at Acting Balanced.

MondayQuiz

1. February 10th is Clean Out Your Computer Day!  It’s is a day to logically review, and delete old files and programs.  Will you be taking part?
 
I probably  should but realistically I probably won’t.
2. February is also National Grapefruit Month – are you a grapefruit lover?  Recipes?
I do like grapefruit but only the Ruby variety which has had orange trees grafted onto  it to make it extra sweet.
 
3. Are you watching the Olympics?  What events hold your interest or are you just ignoring the whole thing?
I don’t think the Olympic Games has caused this much controversy since it was hosted by Germany in 1936. I would like to watch it at least the figure skating  and bobsledding  (what can I say I’m still a sucker for the Jamaicans team) but I’m not sure where to stream it on the Internet because we don’t have cable in the house.
4. Valentine’s Day is Friday – are you planning to celebrate?
I’m not sure because we are short on cash but then again I sometimes think that particular holiday has been overly commercialized anyhow.
 
 What’s Happened Since Last Week: The Paralympicsn in Sochi will happen two weeks after the closing ceremonies of the Winter  Games. The Paralympics is the Olympics for physically disabled athletes and most of the countries who  participate, including   (in spite of a long list of terrible social practices) Russia and Iran televise it. The US doesn’t. Disabled athletes work just as hard as their able-bodied counterparts to achieve a spot on their respective team however  the US Paralympic team will not travel to Russia in the knowledge that millions of people are cheering for them at home from their  couches. In fact I’m willing to bet that the large majority of Americans have no idea that the Paralympics exists at all. This is the link to the petition I started on Change..org in the hopes of getting the Paralympics televised in the  United States. When it reaches 1000 signatures I will send it to the programming directors of CBS, NBC, and any other major television network I can think of and I will continue to do so until someone listens, will you  sign?
my-sig-24
Enhanced by Zemanta
One thought on “Day 272: Another Monday Another Quiz

  1. I’m not the biggest fan of February or grapefruits, but I have to say I totally agree with you about the Paralympics. I am from London, and the summer of 2012 was amazing. I was lucky enough to get tickets for a large variety of sports, but my favourites by far were the Paralympics. The crowds were wild, everyone cheered for everyone and the atmosphere was so happy. It was a great thing to be a part of and something I personally found more exciting than the Olympics! Good luck with NaBloPoMo – I’m doing it too! :)

Leave a Reply

