582px-Treble_clef_2.svgAnd I’d give up forever to touch you
Cause I know that you feel me somehow
You’re the closest to heaven that I’ll ever be
And I don’t want to go home right now
Verse 2

And all I can taste is this moment
And all I can breathe is your life
Cause sooner or later it’s over
I just don’t want to miss you tonight
Chorus

And I don’t want the world to see me
Cause I don’t think that they’d understand
When everything’s made to be broken
I just want you to know who I am
Verse 3

And you can’t fight the tears that ain’t coming
Or the moment of truth in your lies
When everything seems like the movies
Yeah you bleed just to know your alive

Chorus

And I don’t want the world to see me
Cause I don’t think that they’d understand
When everything’s made to be broken
I just want you to know who I am
Chorus

I don’t want the world to see me
Cause I don’t think that they’d understand
When everything’s made to be broken
I just want you to know who I am

I just want you to know who I am
I just want you to know who I am
I just want you to know who I am
I just want you to know who I am

These are the lyrics to “Iris” a song by the band Goo Goo Dolls (which believe it or not my Internet radio station is playing at the moment) The first memory I have connected with this song is actually a funeral.  When I was a teenager my father’s best friend died of a heart attack while driving.  His 16-year-old son who was in the passenger’s seat had to take control of the car to keep them from wrecking, I’m pretty sure that was the exact moment childhood ended for him.  His father was a musician so it was a surprise to no one when the family chose to say goodbye through  music at the memorial service.  This was the song his son chose to have played.  Ironically I don’t remember what his daughter’s choice was and I was closer to her than I was to her younger brother.  Seeing him after his father had died was like meeting an entirely different person, before he had taken every opportunity he could find to tease me, though it was always good natured so I never took offense. Seeing him at the funeral home that day was like meeting an entirely different person, overnight, or so it seemed, the untouchable teenager who believed that just because he was young nothing really terrible was ever going to happen to him was gone.In his place there was a much sobered young man who now had an air of purpose about him that wasn’t there before.

Fast forward to last year.  For several years now whenever I’ve heard the song of the radio I’ve turned it up, sometimes to sing along (despite the fact that I took choir in high school I am terribly out of practice and my singing is about two steps from atrocious some days)and most often just to listen.I don’t usually sing if the people around to hear me but if I’m really happy that goes out the window.  I happened to be dancing with a dear friend when the song played and before I realized it I was halfway through the song.  Shortly thereafter my friend was driving to work and heard the song on his radio and started crying.  I didn’t know what to say.  Now when the song plays I still turn it up to listen, but now instead of feeling slightly mournful I close my eyes and smile to myself.

One thought on “the ever-changing meaning of song

Leave a Reply

