Posted in Uncategorized

tattoos and Shakespeare

Yes I know those two words sound odd together but bear with me.  Shakespeare is responsible via Hamlet for the saying “to thine own self be true”, and that’s what I’ve been trying to do for a while now. I have for the most part accepted that not everyone is going to appreciate the decisions I make in my life and in the end the only person I can be sure of making happy is me.Here is where my family’s deal on body art comes into play.  My dad is needle phobic plus his opinion is that tattoos have become mostly a fad and that the only reason people get them is to look cool. My mom is an artist so she is of the opinion that if the artwork is going to be permanent it better be damn good.  I insist that not only that there were To be good it has to be unique.  My grandmother’s belief is that they are the physical equivalent  of graffiti on a building.  I’m planning on getting a tattoo within the next three months or so (in less something drastic happens which I don’t think it will).  It has been point that as I get older it will probably resemble a bruise and that may be true but I don’t care.  (you read this blog regularly and still don’t have a clue what I want to get as a tattoo you may be a little slow) Regardless of what happens or what it looks lik the symbolism will still be the same.  A pet name, that’s all it appears to be but in truth it is  the stoutest armor and strongest shield against self pity and got, one of the best defenses from the slings and arrows of outrageous fortune that I  have personally been given.  It is more than a nickname for me.  It is the basis of a constant thought on repeat in my head, right next to my mom’s silly song.  “I’m a unique addition to this world something they can’t be re-created and I can beat anything anybody throws at me because this world didn’t count  on anything as tough as me showing up  Nothing quite like me had ever been before and will never be again .  No matter what anyone else thinks, no matter how far the image blurs or the ink fades I will only have to look on my left arm and no matter what is actually there, I will remember the original image in my heart and in my head and my faltering faith in myself will stand on solid ground for a little while more.  I am someone you have never met and I guarantee you the world will never be the same again due to some small part to the fact that I was a part of it.

Leave a Reply

