Posted in Uncategorized

the consequences of being raised in the military

608 matteMy mother served in the military for four years from shortly before I turned five till I was almost ten years old. At that time we had a 22 gauge rifle a 410 shotgun and my mom’s two cylinder Ruger revolver besides her government issue firearm.By the time I was eight I had claimed right of inheritance to mom’s revolver because I thought it was the coolest thing the world.  Unfortunately she had to sell it when she left the Army because we’ve were going through a particularly lean period of time and had to move off base.  I was heartbroken.  Add to that but we have always done historical reenactment and I bet you wouldn’t be surprised to know that I’m a blade “junkie” as well.  I have several knives and two short swords.  I don’t have firearms yet but I will eventually I know that.  The picture in the corner is not a Ruger.  I spent the last hour trying to find a  photographic example of my mother’s weapon to no avail. The picture is actually a picture of a Taurus 608 357 caliber eight shot revolver like the one a friend of mine owns.  No it’s not  his personal one.  I took the specifications he gave me and looked up a picture. At least I’m fairly certain it is, I’ve never actually seen his  Most people are completely baffled at the idea of a disabled person even appreciating much less wanting swords or guns either one. In this case I think the fact that I’m a girl is not even a part of the equation.

I remember when I first got a sword and was practicing with it outside somebody happened to walk past me and asked me what I thought I was doing.  I told her sword practice.  Her response was: your parents allow you to have a sword?I politely explained to her that I was 16 and that my parents had helped me buy it, thinking that it was my age that she was having trouble with.  Nope.  “They bought a sword for a disabled child!”  I thought she was going to faint  in the middle of the road! She had ceased speaking to me but I laid the blade across my knees because I think the fact that I was holding it made her nervous and kindly as I could manage informed her that I had been handling knives since I was 12.  That didn’t help either.  She wandered off in a daze muttering things under her breath probably about how dare my parents give such a dangerous thing me etc. .

She’s not the only person to have had a reaction like that.  When I talk about my mom’s revolver most people look at me like  I must be joking.  When they realize I’m not I can see them look on their faces that they automatically assume that my parents will no doubt refuse to hear of such foolishness and that will be that.  What they don’t understand is that so long and I can figure out a way to safely hold a handgun or any other firearm that I chose to put money into she would help me pick it out, take me to the safety classes, teach me to clean it etc..  Why would I choose to take up something like that?  Because it’s a skill that not everyone is familiar with anymore and I don’t see a reason to lose it.There are frames that attach to a wheelchair so that a handler with limited dexterity can still shoot safely, I found some.

I do not wish to harm anybody but I’m sick  of people who don’t know me trying to tell me what I can and cannot do just because I’m disabled.  I am through listening.

Leave a Reply

