Posted in Uncategorized

48 hours later…things that go through your mind after ink

It’s been 48 hours since I put blue ink under my skin. Yes I did it, shock and amazement.  Surprisingly it didn’t hurt.  Instead it got me to thinking about the important things in life and how we make sure we don’t forget them.  Some people choose to mark passages in their life in photographs, some people make things to remind themselves or another person of  a specific day or relationship, some people draw pictures, and some people (myself included) ask other people to draw pictures on them.  Why?  Tattoos are permanent.  Once embedded into the skin it takes drastic measures to have it removed I think that on a subconscious level tattoos are so popular with people because it serves as a reminder that even beautiful things must come with a price. I said that my tattoo wasn’t painful but that doesn’t mean that I didn’t feel it, I was well aware that I was being poked with something sharp, in the end it was worth it a physical representation of a friendship that has forever changed my life for the better.  Trust me it was a lot more satisfying than all the times I have had to been stuck with an IV.  Tattoos are used largely to reflect a tattoo that has already been put indelibly into the heart, way before an artist puts a drop of ink under the skin.  Some  people view them as little more than graffiti on of a building, but what about murals on buildings?  I don’t think it is something to be taken lightly at the same time it bothers me that those people who choose to commemorate an event or a person with ink after some thought should be thought less of because of it.

my tatoo

Leave a Reply

