Posted in Uncategorized

War and Peace: a blog with no relation to the book of the same name

basic_5wandsThis is what happens when I have a whole lot of time on my hands and very little to do with it, I think too much.  When I was little I remember watching what some people are now calling the First Gulf War on TV. Because my mom was enlisted in the military at the time war was not something that only touched faraway unknown people whose life had no direct effect on mine, these were people who had helped us move, in whose yards I had eaten supper and played Scrabble.  It has been 15 years since Mom left the Army and now even though I have lost contact with the children I used to play with it would not surprise me in in the least to discover that at least a few of them now found themselves in the same desert that hopefully their parent was fortunate enough to get of mostly unscathed. I don’t think it is actually the same desert but at the very least it has similar geography.  I can’t shake the feeling that this is a case of children fighting the war of the parents even though both wars were started for different reasons and I’m one of the first to say that we definitely should have done something.  I saw the twin towers about six months before they fell.  Having been raised on a military base I also don’t believe in leaving a job before it’s finished but when is it finished? Vietnam went on long enough to see children born slightly before it began old enough to fight in the very end.  There are sons whose fathers have retired to find themselves stationed in the same places their fathers were under much the same conditions.  There are parents serving in this Gulf War at the same time as their now adult children who originally fought in the first one.  Will my generation’s grandchildren still be fighting?  I hope not.  An eye for an eye has its place but what’s to be done when we are all blind?

Leave a Reply

