Zombie Night
Image via Wikipedia

I would like to state for the record that I have absolutely no problem with law enforcement in general.  I am well aware that police officers put themselves in harm’s way to keep the rest of us safe. I have a specific problem with the officers of my particular small-town.A few nights ago they came knocking on our front door saying that a pedestrian and reported being knocked over by a white car and since a friend of my cousins had come to visit him and parked his white car in our driveway the officers concern was understandable, this is not the part of the story I have problems with.  Later that night the same friend of my cousin apparently decided to indulge in recreational pharmaceuticals, to the best of my knowledge my cousin told him to get lost and the young man collapsed of an overdose on our property.  Somebody, nobody’s quite sure who, had the presence of mind to call 911 probably from a cell phone because no one came into the house asking for use of the land line.  So the police come out a second time.  I wake up to find red and blue light flashing across my ceiling because my bedroom window overlooks the driveway.  It takes at least half an hour to piece the story together  because of everybody coming in and out of the house, but the upshot is that the boy was taken to the hospital in an ambulance and the police officers accused my father of giving the young man the drugs on which he overdosed.  They came to this conclusion with no other evidence as far as I’m aware than the fact that the call to 911 was placed from this address.  My family has always had a standing rule that no drugs are allowed at our residence, the rest of the family has been informed of that fact several times and so is anyone for who stays with us for any time at all.  I’m not sure exactly how the conversation ended but my dad is still here so they must have finally been convinced that he didn’t do anything wrong.  However we are still walking around like zombies because of the lack of sleep caused by their visit.

Leave a Reply

