Aeron Chair in an office.
Image via Wikipedia

‘ I’ve known my oldest friend since I was 4 years old. If ever there was a case of head over heels blind hero worship that was it. I was 4 and he was 15. From the time we met I was the little tag along shadow to him and his friend Jesse whenever the three of us were at the same place. Actually perhaps it would be more more accurate to describe me as a benign and well loved growth due to the fact that at the age of four I wasn’t anywhere near able to walk and had to be carried if I wasn’t in my chair. I freely admit to the probability that those boys spoiled me to the best of their teenage ability. In return I forgave them anything, including but not limited to, the fact that they spun me around in an office chair until the g force nearly sent me flying and I threw up on them. We’re all grown up now and I’m proud of them beyond measure. Jesse has got his Doctorate in music. A Doctorate! You could have knocked me over with a feather when I heard that.

Corey was a medic in the Army for a while and is now a police officer in a small town. He loves his job and because he does I try not to panic every day. Small town or not, police work isn’t exactly hazard free. To him, I will always be his trooper, the girl who broke her legs, narrowly missed breaking her neck and instead of complaining about pain was upset because I was going to miss supper. Three days later I was saying “let’s do that again, minus the flipped cart.” He laughed. We haven’t always been in the same state but we’ve always been there for each other, even if it was only telephone. I have said many times that a lot of my life is unfair . In this case I think I got luckier than I derserve. Those guys are two of my life’s big biggest blessings.

Leave a Reply

