Doorway into St. Nicholas Tower Chapel gardens...
Doorway into St. Nicholas Tower Chapel gardens. A view looking through a doorway into the gardens at St. Nicholas Tower Chapel, showing a plaque commemorating Mildred Gale, paternal grandmother of George Washington. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Today is Mother’s Day. The one thing that the human race has in common with each other in spite of all the rest of our cultural differences… We all have parents. Whether we like them, have issues with them, or don’t know at all we all came from somewhere. Today I can’t help but think about my paternal grandmother, a lady I never had the good fortune to know. I chose her first name as my middle name when I was 13 years old and that remains the sole connection I have to her other than the obvious one of my father. I sometimes feel like I am missing something important in my life because I didn’t know her. Then the thought occurs to me that my children will grow up, at least in that respect, like I did. The unicorn necklace I wear belonged to Oz’s mother before she died. There is not a day that has passed since I met him that I don’t wonder if she would like me and hope that she would. I think that one of the best things about love in any form is that it can make you strive to be your best possible self.

Leave a Reply

