Paralympic Games
Paralympic Games (Photo credit: Martin Deutsch)

I tried at first I really did. My household has recently decided to do away with cable-television because you can watch most TV on the Internet now anyway. However it is not that easy to watch the Olympics apparently. Somewhere along the way I chose to stop trying to find a way to see them. If you regularly read my blog you know that I am disabled. What you may not be aware of is that the Paralympics takes place roughly 2 weeks after the Olympic closing ceremonies in the same city. If you weren’t aware of this you are not alone. I didn’t even know the Paralympics existed until I was 14 years old. Television networks cover the Olympics every four years without fail, not so the Paralympics. At best I have seen it relegated to a secondary ESPN channel in the United States. I have only seen that once, usually no one even mentions the existence of the Paralympic games at all, not even enough to say that it can be watched online. In an age where hiding those with disabilities away in medical institutions is frowned upon as politically incorrect the United States appears to have found an alternative method of doing essentially that Why do we need to publicly endorse and televise disabled athletes… Of course everyone knows that the Paralympics exist! That should be the case but it isn’t. The United States Postal Service is well known for its series of stamps celebrating the Olympic Games but when I looked up the Paralympics on their official website the only references I found was an article explaining how to send mail to someone there. There was no stamp series to be found anywhere, and to the best of my knowledge there never has been.  Great Britain’s Royal Mail is coming under serious fire for the statement that they only print group shots of Great Britain’s Paralympic gold molests and not individual stamps. While I disagree with that decision at least they are printing stamps to honor the team in the first place, that is definitely more than United States is doing. With as many injured servicemen and women returning from various places all over the globe you would think that somebody would see the value of the Paralympics becoming at least a little more mainstream than it is currently. I can’t see how showing someone that they can still accomplish great and awesome things in spite of an amputation, spinal cord injury etc. can have anything but a positive influence, but maybe that’s just me.

Leave a Reply

