Faith (George Michael song)
Faith (George Michael song) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I am not, much to my grandmother’s continued dismay, a churchgoing person. She one of the few Christians I know who make a real effort to practice that which they profess to believe, because of this my absolute stubborn refusal to attend a church of any (preferably Protestant) denomination frightens her to pieces. My parents didn’t raise us in any particular religion instead they taught us tolerance for everyone’s belief system and assured us that no matter what we came to believe as adults we would always be welcome and loved in their home. This is not to say that I have never stepped foot (or wheel) inside a church, I have been to churches of several denominations in my life. I used to attend my grandmothers church regularly just to spend time with her. I stopped when the youth pastor literally screamed at me for asking a question which obviously made him uncomfortable. When I told my grandmother about it later she refused to speak to the person or stand up for me in any way. While my mom was in the Army we attended the local Universalist Unitarian Church which is a mixed faith and culture denomination. They believe that every person journey to commune with the higher power is valid so long as doing so does not intentionally harm anyone. I enjoyed our North Carolina group immensely and am sorry to admit that I’m guilty of measuring the Nashville Unitarian church by their yardstick and my high expectations were disappointed the few times we have attended since mom was discharged from the Army and we came back to Tennessee.

After I quit going to church with my grandmother I started going to the youth services at a local Pentecostals church . I admit this was more for social reasons then a desire for spiritual education which is ultimately the reason I discontinued going. I discovered that I respected the youth pastor far too much to continue presenting a false front. Sometimes the journey to find yourself in a long one. I should also mention that I have been to many pagan rites and they are by far the most generally accepting people that I have found. If you wish to know what faith I am here is my answer I sometimes wear a pentacle around my neck though I follow no particular path, I give people the respect I wish to be given regardless if their beliefs differ from mine. I help where I can even though it may mean a little personal sacrifice. I believe we will all be held accountable for the things we do in this life the way may not be how we expect. I ask every night that the people and animals I love be held safe, I ask that each day be better than the last time that I am provided with some small way to make the world a better place than it was before I was here. In the end I think it comes down to this: all you need is love, that’s the really important part of any faith.

Note: prompt courtesy of the one minute writer

Pentacle
Pentacle (Photo credit: Wikipedia)
2 thoughts on “Day 181: You’ve Got to Have Faith

  1. Great post! And I do agree with you that pagans are often the most accepting people… well, at least pagans I met have been. Unfortunately, a lot of Christians can be very narrow-minded when it comes to things outside their views, and of course, that mindset doesn’t encourage anyone to become Christian.

Leave a Reply

