The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society
The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Books set in the time frame of the second world war are not something I usually read. My great-grandfather liberated one of the concentration camps in Germany so I am more aware of exactly what went on that a lot of people in my generation. I picked up The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society not knowing about the timeframe. Quite simply I saw the unusual title and was intrigued, I also happen to love books written in the form of letters between the characters so that was a major plus for me. In the process of reading I found out that although the Germans never managed to invade Britain they did occupy the British held island of Guernsey which is apparently situated in the English Channel between Britain and France. I did not know that there were islands in the channel at all or that Guernsey wasn’t a part of mainland Britain. One of the things that I think is done exceptionally well is the characterization of Elizabeth, a person the reader never actually meets (for reasons I will not give away) but who is nevertheless vital to the story. It made me laugh, cheer, and worry. It also brought to my attention authors I haven’t heard of but never previously considered waiting, which is after all the purpose of a book club, even if it was originally made up as an excuse to cover up an illegal dinner party and breaking of the German imposed ccurfew. Even if wartime stories are not your cup of tea usually this one is worth a look. But (in the words of Levar Burton) you don’t have to take my word for it.

3 thoughts on “Day 193: A Book Review and Public Television Nostalgia

  1. Ah,don’t you just love it when a book pleasantly surprises you? I love reading book reviews and this helps me add to my list on Goodreads. I read a lot and that is where I list all my ‘to be read’ books!
    Found you from NaBloPoMo

Leave a Reply

