Chicken Little (2005 film)
Chicken Little (2005 film) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

So I’ve been in Ohio a little over a month and as I expected there is a lot that is different now that I live in another state. For instance we currently live in an apartment complex where over half of the residents are 55 and older, that has definitely taken some getting used to. There are several people who are afraid of my Golden retriever, not because he is threatened anybody, he hasn’t, they are afraid of him simply because he is a big dog. I remind myself whenever that happens not to take it personally. There are sidewalks here and a much better bus system then Tennessee.

One of the things I’m still struggling with though is crossing streets. While still in college I was hit by a car while crossing the street while I had the right-of-way. And on that the fact that my debt perception has never been very good and therefore I don’t trust myself to accurately gauge in traffic and the fact that I no longer assume that I’m safe just because I should have the right-of-way in a crosswalk and it is more than a little scary. Even though the mall is right next door (you can see JCPenney from our living room window) I’m still not brave enough to make a trip without my boyfriend because there was a moderately busy street in between our apartment and the mall and I am afraid that I will misjudge traffic and get hurt again. Sundays I think I’m not much braver than Chicken Little, it’s a work in progress I suppose. I miss everybody in Tennessee (well almost everybody) but I think I miss mom the most. Even when I was in college I wasn’t so far away that driving out to see me was a big production and or possible inconvenience, now it is definitely one and more than likely the second I am not sorry I left but I am sorry for the distance and inconvenience it has put between us.

Leave a Reply

