Cover of "Iron Will [Region 2]"
Cover of Iron Will [Region 2]
Christmas of 1994 found the movie Iron Will appeared under our tree. It’s a live action Disney film about a seventeen year old boy who undertakes a 500 mile dog sled race from Winnipeg, Canada to St. Paul Minnesota for 10,000 dollars in prize money to save the family farm after his father’s death. Once Will has made his intent to race clear( (much to his mother’s quiet terror) his father’s friend Ned, puts him through a grueling regime of endurance training so that he has half a chance of winning against men who have at least a decade and a half more age and experience . “Run longer, sleep less,” gets repeated through out the movie. It occurs to me that has been a theme in my life. Even all these years later it’s still one of my favorite movies.

Because of my disability I start off behind the curve on a lot of things. Sometimes it feels like I have to work twice as hard to get half as far and there have been many times I’ve resented that fact. This year I resolve to embrace “run longer, sleep less” I intend to make a more concentrated effort to blog at least three times a w week. Ultimately I would like to blog daily on a consistent basis but I never discount the value of baby steps.

Leave a Reply

