A white ribbon to commemorate the National Day...
A white ribbon to commemorate the National Day of Remembrance and Action on Violence Against Women. Right-to-life Awareness. White Ribbon. فارسی: روبان سفید، نماد بین‌المللی آگاهی و توجه به مبارزه با خشونت علیه زنان است. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Rape culture is so prevalent in American society that most of us unknowingly endorse it regularly. The girl who gets raped while drinking too much is not to blame for her rape because she chose to ignore the limits of her alcohol tolerance, the rapist is at fault. A woman gets raped walking through a seedy neighborhood at night, gets raped along with having her purse and wallet stolen. She is not at fault, the thief/rapist is. A person gets an 11 year sentence (as much time as the judge could legally give him) for raping his then 14-year-old severely disabled daughter (she can neither walk nor speak). The reason he got off with such a light sentence? In the state he was tried in the accused can get a tougher sentence if the rape occurs during a burglary, if you tie up, otherwise restrain or incapacitate the victim. None of those things happened because none of those things needed to, the severity of the young woman’s disability made it all too easy and because he chose a victim whose own body incapacitates her so that he doesn’t have to he gets a lesser sentence? I shouldn’t have to explain to any legislature why that is wrong, I am at least gratified that the judge who heard the case gave him every day of the max sentence possible and stated that he would have given him more if he had the legal means to do so.

 

I am not as physically disabled and that young woman a fact I am very grateful of, I can hit, scratch, bite, screams “RAPIST” at the top of my lungs for anybody to hear. I can communicate with those around me so that my assault i can be dealt with as soon as possible. I a would not have to wait for my mother to go through my stepfather’s phones looking for evidence that he was cheating to find the video he made up my rape . I may not be able to do a lot of things but reading that story makes me extra grateful for the things I can do. I believe that rape of minor children and the disabled should come with an extra sentence, no matter what method of restraint the perpetrator did or did not use, no matter where the crime was committed and I believe that all rapist should serve mandatory prison time no matter their socioeconomic class. If you think my disability makes me biased you’re damn right. That could have been me.

Part of  Gene O’s Feminist Friday conversation

Enhanced by Zemanta
One thought on “Day 282: Rape: It Happens to the Disabled Too

Leave a Reply

