I’m turning thirty this week. That is a very odd thought, I don’t feel thirty. Many young women are afraid of becoming their mother but if I can look back twenty years from to realize that I have become half as cool as my mom is now than I’m doing pretty well. A few years ago mom was diagnosed with breast cancer. The  chemo made her hair fall out, ALL of it, even her eyebrows. Instead of wailing and gnashing of teeth we came up with the idea for The Fuzzy Wuzzy Project. The idea is to donate handmade pink suede teddy bears to hospitals to provide a bright spot to cancer patients young and old.

When mom lost her hair I changed the rhyme, ” Fuzzy wuzzy was a bear, fuzzy wuzzy had no hair. Fuzzy was a chemo bear.”My mom taught me that in every bad situation there is a silver lining and that sometimes if  you can find it you can use it to change lives for the better .Some other things she’s taught me:

  1. Nobody is flawless, even magazine models Mom went to art school and when they taught her to use Photoshop they showed her how to erase acne, wrinkles etc. The first  thing she did when she got home that day was grab a magazine and explain how they had been manipulated. My hope is that more kids have that explained, maybe than the number of kids half killing themselves for an unattainable  perfection will decrease.
  2. Grow things. Mom has kept gardens for large chunks of my life dnd watching things grow is magical.
  3.  Know where the food you eat comes from. I’m talking about basic things like knowing that bacon comes from pigs. I was shocked to discover that some people actually believe that food just appears at the grocery store.
  4. Say please and thank you. It really does open doors.
    http://www.gettyimages.com/detail/186840197
Leave a Reply

