Posted in Uncategorized

Day 297: Next Question Please

In

The Pulitzer Prize gold medal award 한국어: 퓰리처상 ...
The Pulitzer Prize gold medal award 한국어: 퓰리처상 공공 보도 부문 상인 금메달 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Trick Questions.”

Putting aside the improbability of a Pulitzer Prize winning journalist wanting to interview me about anything,let me go and save this hypothetical person some trouble and tell you some of the questions I hope don’t come up and my likely reactions if they came up anyway.

  • If a cure was developed for your disease would you take it? First let me make something clear. Cerebral Palsy is a condition, not a disease. You can’t catch it from me or anyone else. Second, the short answer is I don’t know. The reason I’m uncomfortable with that question is that no matter what I answer I’m on the defensive. If its an able person asks and I say no they are confused.  If there were a means of fixing the issues that I struggle with and complain about why wouldn’t I?  How could I be so selfish as to disregard what family/caregivers have to go through and choose to stay dependant instead of lifting that burden from them? If lts a disabled person asking and I say yes there are questions about why I can’t seem to be content with the hand I’ve been dealt and suggestions that I’m looking down on other disabled  people who wouldn’t make the same choice.  I think that either chioce is very personal  and nobody from either side has the right to cast stones at someone who chooses differently than them.
  • You were homeschooled? Was it for religious reasons? NO! People home school for a lot of reasons, some of which have little or nothing to do with a family’s  beliefs. My sister and I were being bullied in elementary school, not by other children, but by adults in positions of authority.
Leave a Reply

