GIn response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Million-Dollar Question.”

Simon and Garfunkel’s The Sound of Silence has always been one of my moms favorite songs. I heard it a lot growing up. Oddly enough I would never say that I’ve known the  words my entire life. They never really seemed to filter into my brain for some reason. Until very recently I could tell you the name of the song and recognize the tune and that was it. Until I found a recent cover of it done by the band Disturbed. Disturbed is my boyfriend’s favorite band ever but I’m definitely not a fan of most of their music, in fact, if my boyfriend had simply told me that they had covered this song I would have probably refused to listen to it, assuming the song had been butchered beyond recognition.

Happily though I just happened to walk in the room when that track came on and was absolutely floored. What does this have to do with blogging? I blog because Silence like a cancer grows. Hear my words that I might teach you. Take my arms that I might reach you. The world is is silent on so  many things today. Silent about awful things but also about joyful things. I want to turn the sound up again.

http://www.gettyimages.com/detail/551986339

Go  fnd the cover on Youtube, Spotify. Itunes, Pandora whatever you use, you won’t be sorry.

One thought on “Day 298: The Sound of Silence or Why I Blog

Leave a Reply

