Posted in Uncategorized

Day 304: Since When is Wanting to Be A Soldier A Bad Thing?

Artificial "remembrance poppies" at ...
Artificial “remembrance poppies” at a war memorial in Ypres, Belgium (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This is the second post I’ve seen on Freshly Pressed about poppies  and Remembrance Day in two days time. I am not in any way shape form or fashion a resident of Britain or any other part of the United Kingdom but something has been percolating in my brain since the first post. I agree that the Poppy Police need to shut up and sit down because nobody has any right to tell anyone else how to mourn and remember the dead. I also agree that poppies are being taken out of the context they were originally meant to have but here’s my question… What’s so bad about wanting to grow up to be a soldier? I have family members who  were “oversexed, overpaid, and over here”, from both sides of my family in both World Wars. Both of my parents are veterans. My sister and I were taught to view military service as a contemporary form of knighthood. Knights defend those who cannot defend themselves, they stand in the breach between civilians and great despair and hold the line  and say “you shall not harm these people and if necessary I will perish to protect them”.I am the last person to advocate war but soldiers also build bridges, schools, hospitals. They dig wells so that villages can have clean water to drink. Make sure that the leaders of nations do not enter into war lightly, which I agree, seems to be happening far more often lately, but do not cringe if your child comes to you and says, “I want to be a soldier when I grow up.” There are far worse things to be then a Knight.

Leave a Reply

