Posted in Uncategorized

Day 327: Why I Take Issue With Bathroom Bills, and It’s Probably Not the Reason You Think

 This post has been coming for weeks, ever since North Carolina passed the bill restricting transgendered people to the use of the public restroom which matches their birth sex instead of their current identifying gender. Laws like these have sprung up all over the southern United States*and they are totally and completely wrong. The bills are supposed to protect against pedophiles and rapists, that language suggests that anyone believes a transgendered person to be inherently criminal. Yes, a transgendered person could also be a criminal but to assume they are criminal because they are transgendered is no different from assuming criminal behavior based solely on skin color. What it really is is plain fear mongering and bigotry.

 

I have never been able to use the bathroom by myself because of the limitations of my disability. My dad stopped having one-on-one father daughter lunches with me when I was 10 years old because someone accused him of being a pedophile for no other reason than helping me to the bathroom. 20 years later my boyfriend has to do the same thing and though no one has called him a pedophile yet he still gets odd looks if the place we are shopping/eating at does not have a family bathroom because no matter which we one of us is seen as being out of place. What is he supposed to do, let me have an accident? Are we not supposed to go out as a couple? The hell with that.

 

The people who support bathroom lawns are exactly the kind of people who assume the worst when the guys in my life are just trying to help me get necessary things accomplished. I would rather receive help from a person I know no matter what gender or sex they identify with them on that I don’t any day of the week. In the 1960s it was water fountains, lunch counters, and public transportation but it wasn’t really about any of those things. It’s about fear, it was then and it is now. Transgendered people are no more monsters under the bed than are people of color or immigrants.

To the people who believe that laws like this actually protect people I say consider for a moment that the word “different” does not always equate to “evil”. Be brave . I know it’s hard but I believe you can do it.

  • As far as I am aware laws like these only exist in the southern states.
Leave a Reply

