Posted in Uncategorized

Day 339:Gender and Race are Not Excuses for Violence

Image result for stop sign free image

I believe  that people’s lives intersect for a reason. Some stay for tiny blips of time that feel too short, others may stay far past the point we think they should. Positively or negatively we are influenced by others. Somewhere I heard a phrase, “leave this world better than it was when you found it,” and it’s something  I try to live.  The  older I get the more people I seem to know who don’t fit the gender binary. I have seen people ridiculed for not fitting into the box society has built around them without so much as a “by your leave”. News flash folks, gender is a social construct. Humans built what it means to be male and female. Biology determines DNA humans create gender. The concept of gender is malleable.Women should be able to do anything men can do and men shouldn’t be given  crap for taking on roles  traditionally thought of as feminine.

Also can we please stop the violence?There is way too much violence today. The “us versus them” mentality is rampant the racial divides were implemented by elitist bigots who use them to say to poor white people “well at least you’re not black or insert minority group”here, in an effort to make them ignore just how badly they themselves were being treated. It worked. Violence against the LGBTQ community (of which I am a part) is happening every day. I go to sleep with the nagging worry in my head that I will wake up to find that one of my friends has been tied to a barbed wire fence and beaten overnight while I slept. The violence against transgendered people is getting scarier every day. To the people who support “bathroom bills” because they are afraid that someone might attack a family member or a loved one I say to you that it is possible for a transgendered person to be violent or a criminal, being transgender does not make them violent or criminal. Most want to their lives, pay taxes and love their families just like everybody else. Look at it this way would you be happy if someone thought you were violent just because of the color of your hair or the car you drive? It is absolutely and totally ridiculous but these are the realities of life for a great many trans people. The area I grew up in isn’t known to be particularly friendly to those who lead nontraditional lives. I know this because someone in my family once went on a tear about how members of the LGBTQ community were going to burn in hell. They had no that I identify as bisexual. When I was in high school there was a young man who was always very conscientious about treating me like a human being which is not something I can say for everybody I went to school with. Several years later I have heard through the grapevine that he has since transitioned to being a woman. Even though she and I have not spoken since high school I worry about her every day. It seems the older I get the more my friends come from marginalized minorities. I know a trans person works as a paramedic on the third shift, we haven’t each other all that long but anybody who has known me for an extended period of time will tell you that when I decide to get attached to people I get attached with superglue, so every time he leaves for work a very small part of me worries a little extra.

Children are the future but children don’t know the things they need to until an adult teaches them. Every hateful word, ugly action, a moment of indifference teaches  our kids whether or not they’re done intentionally. There are massive social injustices in this world and one person can’t change them all but the tiniest rock shifting can start an avalanche of change. So I challenge you to be mindful of your actions with yourselves and others and maybe, just maybe, one day you’ll see that one tiny action of yours caused a cascade that changes everything for the better.

Leave a Reply

